An Honorary Fellowship is the highest honour that the Australian Institute of Building (AIB) is able to bestow. The relationship between AIB and its Honorary Fellows reflects not only the contribution of the honour’s recipient but also their support for AIB, its work and the broader building profession.  Appointed by mutual consent between the Council and the recipients, the Honorary Fellows are:

His Royal Highness, The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh KG KT OM AK GCVO AC(Mil) HonFAIB

Field Marshall of the Australian Army (1954);

Marshal of the Royal Australian Air Force (1954)

Admiral of the Fleet of the Royal Australian Navy (1954);

Colonel-in-Chief of the Royal Australian Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (1959);

Colonel-in-Chief of the Australian Army Cadets (1963).

Note: Only the Prince’s Australian honours and appointments, and honours to which Australians are still eligible are shown above – academically HRH has also served as Chancellor of the Universities of Cambridge, Edinburgh and Salford.

The Honourable Sir Eric Neal AC CVO HonFAIB FTSE

Former Governor of South Australia;

Former Chancellor of Flinders University;

Former Commissioner for Sydney;

Former Chairman of Westpac;

Former CEO of Boral;

Honorary Air Commodore of the City of Adelaide Squadron;

Honorary Colonel of the Royal South Australian Regiment;

Department of Defence Medal for Distinguished Public Service – USA.

Dr Janet Holmes a’Court AC HonFAIB  HonFAHA

Former Chairwoman of the John Holland Group;

Chairwoman of the West Australian Symphony Orchestra;

Former Director of the Reserve Bank of Australia;

DUniv(CQU and Murdoch); DLitt(UWA); DBus(CSU and Ballarat[now Federation]); and DArts(ECU).

Dr James Service AO HonFAIB

Inaugural Chairman of the Australian Building Codes Board;

Director and Chairman of ACTEW;

Former National President of the Property Council of Australia;

Former National President of the Building Owners and Managers Association;


The Honourable, Sir Laurence Street AC KCMG HonFAIB QC

Former Chief Justice of New South Wales;

Former Lieutenant Governor of New South Wales;

Former Australian and World President of the International Law Association;

Knight of Grace of the Venerable Order of St John of Jerusalem;  

Grand Officer of Merit of the Order – Malta;

DEc(UNE) and DLaws(Syd, UNSW, and UTS).

Lieutenant Colonel (Retd),  Sir John Holland AC HonFAIB HonFTSE (Vale)

Founder of the John Holland Group.

Professor, The Right Honourable, Lord May of Oxford OM AC Kt HonFAIB DistFRSN FAA FTSE FRS 

The Australian Robert MacCredie May;

Professor of Zoology – University of Oxford;

Former Professor of Physics – University of Sydney;

Former Professor of Zoology – Princeton University;

Former Royal Society Research Professor – Imperial College London;

Former Royal Society Research Professor – University of Oxford;

Former Chief Scientist of the United Kingdom;

Former President of the Royal Society (of London);

PhD(Physics – USyd);

Honorary degrees and doctorates: from Uppsala (1990); Yale (1993); Sydney (1995); Princeton (1996);

and Eldgenossische Technische Hochscgule Zurich (2003).

The Honourable, Dr Kenneth Michael AC HonFAIB 

Former Governor of Western Australia;

Former Chancellor of the University of Western Australia;

Commissioner of Main Roads WA;

PhD(Imperial College London).

Professor, The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO HonFAIB

Former Governor of New South Wales;

Dame of Grace of the Venerable Order of St John of Jerusalem;

Officier (Officer) Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur – France;

Grand Cordon of the National Order of the Cedar – Lebanon;

Honorary and Regimental Colonel in the Royal New South Wales Regiment;

Honorary Air Commodore of No. 22 Squadron Royal Australian Air Force;

Honorary Commodore, Navy Warfare Training, Royal Australian Navy;

Honorary Governor of the New South Wales Police Force;

MD(USyd); DUniv(Macq, ACU and SCU); DSc (UNSW and Wollongong); and DLitt(WSU).

Professor, Lieutenant General Peter Leahy AC HonFAIB FRSN

Professor of Strategic Studies – University of Canberra;

Former Chief of Army;

Commander of the Legion of Merit – USA;

Meritorious Service Medal – Singapore;

Commander Royal Order of Sahametrei – Cambodia;

Gallant Commander Order for Valour – Malaysia.

The Honourable, Sir Anthony Mason AC KBE HonFAIB QC 

Former Chief Justice of Australia;

Former Justice Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal;

Former Justice of the Supreme Court of Fiji;

Former President of the Solomon Islands Court of Appeal;

Former Professor of Legal Science – University of Cambridge;

Grand Bauhinia Medal (GBM) – Hong Kong;

Honorary Doctorates in Law from: ANU; Deakin; Griffith; Hong Kong; Melbourne; Monash; Oxford; Sydney; and UNSW.

More information regarding AIB Honorary Fellows

The Australian Institute of Building (AIB) recognises those members who have made an outstanding contribution to both the Institute and the broader building profession. Awarded by the AIB Council, this honour is internationally regarded.

The following individuals have been provided with the honour of being a Life Fellow of the Institute:

Ronald William Beslich OAM LFAIB
R J Bradshaw LFAIB
Donald  Cockram LFAIB
J W Connell AM LFAIB
George Dore OAM LFAIB
John Doust AM LFAIB
Robin Fardoulys AM LFAIB
P S Fardoulys AM LFAIB
Graham Andrew Fricker AM LFAIB
Brigadier J A Gilchrist LFAIB
Captain A H Gordon LFAIB
Peter Hansen  OAM LFAIB
Sir Manuel Hornibrook OBE LFAIB
Walter Huxley LFAIB
Ron Kilcullen OAM LFAIB
Arthur Krust OAM LFAIB
Peter Leahy AC HFAIB
Lieutenant Commander V R Littlewood RAN Ret’d LFAIB
Robert MacCredie OM AC LFAIB
G F G Mackey  LFAIB
Anthony Mason AC HFAIB
Kenneth Michael AC HFAIB
Thomas Morris OAM LFAIB
Alfred Ng HFAIB
Allan Pizzey AM LFAIB
Barry Sagar FAIB
Donald  Sarah AM LFAIB
James Service AO HFAIB
W L  Shields OAM LFAIB
L C S Spencer LFAIB
Peter Spratt AM LFAIB
Laurence Street AC HFAIB
Ronald Swane AM LFAIB
Colonel L Thompson AM LFAIB
Troy Williams LFAIB

AIB Medals were presented to the following Past National Presidents:

F Watts CBE
A L Rigby AM ED
H Wilckens
J A Taylor
Sir Albert Jennings
Ronald William Beslich OAM LFAIB
Norman Abraham Faifer FAIB

Life Fellowships were presented to the following past AIB CEOs:

T Williams LFAIB