Responsibility for the overall management of the Australian Institute of Building (AIB) lies with its Council. The AIB Council comprises Office Bearers, the immediate Past National President, and a nominee from each of the AIB Chapters.

The AIB National Council elected at the annual general meeting held in Sydney on 19 September 2019 comprises:

David Burnell FAIB
National President
John Gaskin AM FAIBNational Senior Vice President
Claire Vervaart FAIBNational Vice President
Scott Reid FAIBNational Vice President
Norman Faifer FAIB Immediate Past President
Robert Gittins FAIB
Council Representative – NSW
Greg McLean OAM FAIBCouncil Representative – QLD
Robyn Hardy FAIB
Council Representative – ACT
George Moschoyiannis MAIBCouncil Representative – VIC
Damian Rogers AM FAIB

Council Representative – TAS
Gavin Tonkin FAIBCouncil Representative – SA / NT
Tamica D’Uva MAIB

Council Representative – WA
S. K. Wong FAIBCouncil Representative – Hong Kong
Robin Fardoulys AMLFAIBCouncil Representative – Overseas
Jessica Baller (YBA)Observer
Adam Rennie AMAIB (YBA)Observer